Posted by: rethots | November 14, 2008

…impress me

How far, are you going for lunch? No. You? Not necessarily, but, want to take a stroll down the road. “not necessarily”, yeah right, as if you eat at all. In that case, rather than send the office assistant help me cash this cheque. Oh! That means I will have to ensure my walk gets that far, no probs sha. …just that personally I don’t like the ambiance of that bank, moreover, their wahala of confirmation of cheques is pretty inefficient.

 

Oops, no queue……gracias. Good aftern’n. Good afternoon. Your identification? Hmmm, this cheque is extinct. Sorry? This cheque is extinct. Bottomline sha, you cannot pay me. Wait oh; she said the cheque was ‘extinct’. What meant her? Oh! See this guy, what was he thinking of ….he signed ’04 rather than ’08. But then, ‘extinct’, thot dinosaurs were extinct? Encarta, Encarta where art thou.

 

That obviously is not the end of the story. What did you do to her afterwards? What is that supposed to mean? I did nothing, only, I felt pity for my colleague who would have to spend the weekend (public holiday inclusive) cashless. Ok, something tells me I was supposed to be ‘impressed’; funny enough, I was but, not positively. Can anyone ever impress you? Yes but, it won’t be for something you do consciously.

 

Educate me. The moment you do something consciously to impress another, you have simply given powers to the other. But, when ‘tis a habit……………..it may not necessarily impress people however, ‘twill differentiate you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. FIRST!!! FIRST!!! YAY!!!
    Be right Back!!!

  2. lol!!! Hmmn an extinct checque…wow that’s a new one…lol first it was Baroque and Miss glade now you and Miss Extinct!!! Shege(hausa for y’all that don’t know)…I’m cringing…!!!…awww poor gals…

  3. Okay for good measure…I’ve decided to be 3rd as well…hee hee hee…so sue me!!!

  4. all that to impress u? lol!

    extinct? never heard that!

  5. Very dry. Next!

  6. “Encarta, encarta, where art thou???”

    LOLLLLLLLLLLLLL…

  7. NoLimit…I don’t like this thing o…you occupied 1st, 2nd, and 3rd positions…and see me thinking I must be late…lol.

  8. lol… extinct?that’s a new one:)

  9. extinct ko antique ni.wt happened 2 simplicity.dis is a stale chq.fullstop.dis girl go let dis rethots n baroque finish us o

  10. extinct…extinct ke? pls why must people butcher the language with force when dey no sabi am?

  11. LOL… eiyah… poor child. My concern is, if simple English is a challenge, I definitely don’t want you anywhere near my dough… sorry.

  12. The check is extinct?! Wow, english is hard. Whatever happened to the check is not valid?

    “Encarta, encarta, where art thou?” Is this a line from Shakespeare? I know i’ve heard b4.

  13. The moment you do something consciously to impress another, you have simply given powers to the other – rethots you just say it as it is..and the way you write is different n entertaining

  14. lol
    Extinct
    you should have been impressed
    coz where she comes from thats probably a monstrous word.

  15. For all the walk, the check was not valid… and you were not angry, really nice.

  16. that means YOU paying today lol

  17. Nigerians and our command of the English language…gotta hand it to us, we’re bloody innovative!

    Interesting comment about striving to impress others and the change of power over to their hands. Enough “rethots” on that one.

    Hope you are well?

  18. considering you told some part of this story on my blog, can i say it is extinct? LOL…

  19. wait…cldnt u have gotten his ATM card?

  20. I pitied ur colleague o. he should get an ATM for rainy days.

  21. “But, when ‘tis a habit……………..it may not necessarily impress people however, ‘twill differentiate you.”

    Touche.

  22. hehehe…OYINBO po!

  23. Extinct? lol.., the versatility of the English language.

    abeg free the girl. The check is simply extinct because it is no longer in use. Maybe it is that particular check. (LOL)

    I would not be surprised if she heard it usage in Yoruba movies.

  24. LOL!

    The last bit of the post..makes a lot of sense..

  25. This post will soon be extinct. U’d bera start thinking of updating 😉

  26. ROTFLMAO! The cheque is extinct ke?! Tew funny. Reminds me of Baroques Miss Sexy Glade post!

  27. LOL! Extinct……..
    I wonder why people bother trying to impress. I need to know what they intend to gain by doing so, Respect or what????
    LOL! get get my head out of this one…..maybe you strike her as the type of person she’d love to be.

  28. LOL! Extinct……..
    I wonder why people bother trying to impress. I need to know what they intend to gain by doing so, Respect or what????
    LOL! can’t get my head out of this one…..maybe you strike her as the type of person she’d love to be.


Leave a Reply

Categories

